Committee members elected at online AGM

This years AGM was held via Microsoft Teams software 10th Feb 2021 and the following officials were elected to the committee.

  1. Richard Cox – Chairman
  2. Stu Penfold – Secretary
  3. Sophie David – Treasurer
  4. Mattie McCleod-Baikie – Club Captain
  5. Mal Brown – Membership Secretary
  6. Jeff Rogers – Webmaster
  7. Jon David – Head Coach
  8. Sean Ellison
  9. Martin Charlton
  10. Daf Price
  11. Jeremy Wadia
  12. Matthew Brown


The COVID Season 2020

Starting with the pre-COVID New Years Day Swim hosted by the hard working St Davids Penknife Club the season became a short summer with disinfectants, social distancing and general care. A few stalwarts still managed to provide Lifeguard cover integrating with RNLI shifts and personal training at Whitesands.  No organised group trainings were held due to the complexity of adhering to guidelines and the various permission forms.

So here are the stats from Porthmawr SLSC for the 2020 season where we achieved an enormous amount of volunteer hours picking up the shortfall from the RNLI services.

We patrolled 254 hours – the equivalent to about 30 full days

We had 10 Assists, 9 rescues, 4 major first aids and 1 minor ( we were asking people to deal with their own minors in most circumstances), and 3 missing children.


Lets hope that next year we can all get together down at the beach!